Asbestos still used in America!

I’m quite horrified to report that a few weeks ago I was contacted by an activist who reports disgusting old asbestos is still being used in America! Wow. That’s… stone age. Unimaginable. Especially when it is so unnecessary. With a plasma burner, we can now turn ordinary household waste into rock wool, which can safely replace many of the functions of asbestos. I’ll hand you over to Brian Turner for more.

***

Hi Eclipse,

My name is Brian Turner and I am the Toxic Substance Safety Advocate for the Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance.  Since your blog seems to have a focus on the environment and living green, I hope you’ll be interested in helping me to spread awareness of asbestos and it’s dangers.

Many people are unaware that asbestos is classified as a known human carcinogen, yet it is still widely used in the US.  It affects our water, air, and soil quality, as it does not break down or biodegrade.  I work to spread awareness because mesothelioma is caused only by asbestos exposure, so knowing more about asbestos and its risk factors truly does make a difference.

I’ve attached a document outlining some important and little known facts about asbestos and mesothelioma that we used for our Mesothelioma Awareness Day campaign this year.  I would love it if you’d be willing to share it on your blog for your community so we can keep the awareness momentum going!  If your readers would like to learn more about mesothelioma and asbestos, you can direct them to www.mesothelioma.com

Let me know if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Brian Turner

 

Asbestos

This entry was posted in Pollution. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

