‘Oblivion’ and ‘After Earth’

Hi all,

I love Sci-Fi and Geeky stuff. And, with all my peak oil / sustainability interests over the years, I’m also partial to an end of the world apocalyptic thriller as well. So meet Tom Cruise in Oblivion.

I love the look of Oblivion, which has already been compared to The Matrix meets Total Recall in I am Legend. Why I Am Legend? Maybe it’s just me, but isn’t this another post-apocalypse New York? Again? After Godzilla I heard there was a Japanese remix of all the movies New York has ever been destroyed in. Boy, that remix DVD has got to be GROWING!

But that’s OK. I still hope to write a post-apocalyptic teen novel set in Sydney. I can use all the background ‘vibe’ I can get. (EG: I really enjoyed Hunger Games… the books, that is. The movie couldn’t really translate what was in Katniss Everdeen’s head into a 3rd person action movie. It lost a lot in translation).

And speaking of Will Smith in I Am Legend, here we go again. In his next Sci-Fi action movie thriller, After Earth, Will Smith saves the world again. Well, he saves the human race… well, himself and his son. Again.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll definitely see it. Even if it is only a B-Grade teen movie fix. If it’s more than that, all the better. But if it’s only a teen action movie, did I mention I want to write a post-apocalyptic teen novel set in a kind of Mad Max-ish Sydney? Did I mention that, if they only make my (still hypothetical) ‘book’ into a popcorn & coke teen action movie, that I’m perfectly OK with that? Really. Anyone out there want to sponsor me a few million so I can stop work and just write the thing?

Let me have my dreams and delusions of grandeur, OK? I work in a Mail Room.

Where were we? Oh yeah, Will Smith in After Earth.

So, Will Smith saves the world again. How many times is that now?

  1. Independence Day.
  2. MIB I,II & III. (And yes, there will be a IV)
  3. I am Legend.
  4. I Robot (and yes, there will be an I Robot 2)
  5. Hancock (and yes, there will be a Hancock 2)
  6. Wild Wild West
    (please, let there NOT be a WWW2).

By the way, did you know Will Smith turned down playing NEO in the Matrix to do WWW? Wow. I mean, wow! And I thought enrolling for an expensive internet course I never completed was a mistake.

I just hope that if they ever turn Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Series into a movie, they avoid Will Smith. Nothing against him, but come on people! It’s not just about who draws the money in!

This entry was posted in Movies and TV, Sci-Fi. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Oblivion’ and ‘After Earth’

  1. specialletters says:

    The Japanese movie composite would surely be all the Godzilla attacks on der Big Apple?
    Just watched Will in “Six degrees of separation” he was a bad character but everyone loves him – a lovely cameo film with Stockyard Channing and Donnie Sutherland as the over rich attention seekers…. BUT amazing how he has saved the World so many times. Can we get him here for 21 Dec?

  2. Eclipse Now says:

    Ha ha! Maybe not even Will Smith could save us from 21.12.12 if Julia Gillard is right. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

